Car Accidents Attorney in Austin, Texas
A car accident can change your entire life in a second. Whether it is you or someone you love, the injuries sustained can be devastating and the recovery process could be extensive. That’s why you deserve compensation that can help cover your medical costs and ease the burden of recovery. You may not know what to expect from your case and what your rights are when it comes to pursuing fair compensation.
That’s where my firm can help. With over 26 years of personal injury experience under my belt, I am an attorney who will do all that I can to advocate for your needs. I do more than aggressively pursue monetary compensation for injured victims. I abide by a strict and simple business philosophy: put the needs of my client first and do all that I can to help them pursue the justice they deserve. I proudly serve clients in Austin, Texas, and the neighboring areas of Georgetown, Bastrop, and Marble Falls.
Texas Liability for Car Accidents
When it comes to motor vehicle accidents, Texas is considered an at-fault state that uses a modified comparative fault rule. This means that each driver will be assessed a percentage of fault to account for the liability in causing the accident, and any damages that are awarded in the case will be based on that percentage.
For example, imagine that you are in an accident and the court finds you to be 10% at fault for the accident. The court then decides to award you $100,000 in damages to help compensate you for the injuries that you sustained. Your settlement will be reduced by 10% to account for your level of fault in the accident, meaning you will only be eligible to receive $90,000.
What Do I Do If I Get Into an Accident?
Getting into any kind of car accident can be a scary experience. In spite of this, it is important that you make sure you follow the appropriate steps so that you can receive the care you need while also preserving your ability to successfully file a personal injury claim and collect damages. Should you choose to file a claim, you will generally have three options for pursuing compensation:
File a Claim with Your Own Insurance - This is usually the simplest option. You can notify your insurance company immediately after the accident to begin the process.
File a Claim Against The At-Fault Driver - Collect the other driver’s information at the scene of the accident and file a claim with their insurance company after filing a claim with your own insurance.
File a Personal Injury Lawsuit Against the At-Fault Driver - If you decided to file a lawsuit, you should consider hiring a personal injury attorney to help you receive the compensation you deserve.
What are The Insurance Requirements in Texas?
Car insurance is an important element that can help you collect the damages you deserve for any injuries you received in the accident. In Texas, the owner of a motor vehicle is required to maintain a certain amount of liability insurance coverage so that they can cover the cost of any damages that they cause on the road to other drivers. This is required for every driver on the road in order to operate the vehicle legally on Texas roads and highways.
What Are the State Laws
Addressing Personal Injury Claims?
When it comes to filing a personal injury claim, being aware of all relevant state laws is important. You want to make sure you don’t miss any deadlines and understand the type of case that can be brought forward.
Texas does have a statute of limitations for personal injury lawsuits. This means that there is a limited window of time after the incident in which you have the right to file a claim to pursue compensation. In Texas, the deadlines can vary depending on the kind of harm you suffered and the kind of case you want to file. However, most car accident lawsuits must be filed within two years of the date of the crash.
As mentioned above, Texas is a modified comparative fault state. This means that the court will assign a percentage of fault to each person involved in the accident. This means that your damages will be reduced by a rate that is equal to the percentage of fault you are assigned for the accident. Most notably, if you are found to be more than 50% at fault for the accident, you will not be allowed to recover any damages for the accident.
Can I file a wrongful death claim?
If you have lost a loved one to a motor vehicle accident, you may be able to file a claim on their behalf. Family members can receive compensation for funeral costs, loss of companionship, loss of income, and more.
In order to file a claim, you must be the surviving spouse, a child, or a parent of the deceased. You must also file a wrongful death claim within three months of the date of death, and the claim may only be brought if there was a “wrongful act, neglect, carelessness, unskillfulness, or default" of one party that caused the death of your loved one.
Hire an Experienced Car Accident Attorney
A car accident that causes the injury or death of you or a loved one is never an easy situation to navigate on your own. In 2019 alone, there were 12,897 serious injury crashes in Texas with 15,843 people sustaining a serious injury. Having an attorney to advocate for the needs of you and your family can go a long way towards helping you receive the compensation you deserve — allowing you and your family to focus on recovering and moving forward.
Here at Greenway Law Firm, I’ve spent my entire career working with injured victims and families to help them secure the compensation they need to cover medical expenses, lost wages, and any additional pain and suffering they’ve been forced to endure. Recovering from a car accident can be extremely difficult, but you don’t have to face these challenges on your own. Call or reach out to my firm today to schedule a free case consultation and learn more about how I can help you with your case.